Event box

"What's New?" Book Discussion : The Patron Saint of Second Chances by Christine Simon. In Person! RESCHEDULED FROM 6/29

"What's New?" Book Discussion : The Patron Saint of Second Chances by Christine Simon. In Person! RESCHEDULED FROM 6/29

The "What's New"? Book Discussion Group discusses popular new releases each month.  Join us @ 5pm in the Garden Room. We will be discussing The Patron Saint of Second Chances by Christine Simon.

The self-appointed mayor of a tiny Italian village is determined to save his hometown no matter the cost in this charming, hilarious, and heartwarming debut novel.

Vacuum repairman and self-appointed mayor of Prometto, Italy (population 212) Signor Speranza has a problem: unless he can come up with 70,000 euros to fix the town’s pipes, the water commission will shut off the water to the village and all its residents will be forced to disperse. So in a bid to boost tourism—and revenue—he spreads a harmless rumor that movie star Dante Rinaldi will be filming his next project nearby.

Unfortunately, the plan works a little too well, and soon everyone in town wants to be a part of the fictional film. To his surprise—and considerable consternation, Speranza realizes that the only way to keep up the ruse is to make the movie for real.

As the entire town becomes involved (even the village priest invests!) Signor Speranza starts to think he might be able to pull this off. But what happens when Dante Rinaldi doesn’t show up? Or worse, what if he does?

A “hilariously funny and beautifully written” (Julia Claiborne Johnson, author of Better Luck Next Time) novel about the power of community, The Patron Saint of Second Chances is perfect for fans of Fredrik Backman and Maria Semple.--Provided by Publisher.

If you wish to join the discussion, please email megan.flynn@hoboken.bccls.org to rsvp.

Print copies are available for book group members to borrow at the Grand Street Branch 124 Grand Street 2nd Floor and at the Main Branch 500 Park Ave. Email grandstreet@hoboken.bccls.org or call (201)420-2346 x.5301 to arrange a grab and go or a locker pickup.

Date:
Wednesday, July 6, 2022
Time:
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Location:
Hoboken - Small Programming Room & Garden
Campus:
Hoboken Public Library
Audience:
  Adults  
Categories:
  Book Club  

Event Organizer

Profile photo of Hoboken Library
Hoboken Library